Virginia’s minimum wage has begun the first of several scheduled increases, jumping – as of May 1 – from $7.25/hr. to $9.50/hr. No longer tied to the federal minimum wage, it will now move to $11.00/hr. on January 1, 2022, before further increasing to $12.00 on January 1, 2023. Projected additional increases (to $13.50 on January 1, 2025, and $15.00 on January 1, 2026) must be authorized by the General Assembly in order to take effect.
Have questions about the applicability of Virginia’s minimum wage law to your business or about wage-and-hour considerations generally, including whether employees are exempt from overtime pay? Contact our attorneys today.